Uncategorized

Preparing The Field

“Good days give happiness…

Bad days give experience…

Worst days give lessons…

And best days give memories…

NEVER REGRET A DAY IN YOUR LIFE!”

– Author unknown

 

So after Ethan’s family moved, our family (for the first time in our whole marriage) was in one spot.  We were happy, but those days did have challenges as well. I had to learn that no matter how you felt that someone treated you, you have to show kindness. This was a challenge for me because I tend to wear my heart on my sleeve and I am not slow to anger like I should be. However, Ethan’s mom started working at the same place I did and we were able to form a bond that didn’t involve Ethan. I think for the first time I saw her as a person, rather than just my mother-in-law. I would like to say that our relationship is 100% just rainbows and sunshine now but everyone knows that relationships of every kind take WORK, and that work is a life long process.

Another year went by. Ethan and I slowly had started to think about and except that it was going to be just the two of us. I never gave up the desire to have a child, but I no longer was going to let it hold me back from living. I did, however, want to get healthy. I would not consider myself a very large person but for my height I knew that I was obese. I also knew that with PCOS, being over weight was not helping me at all.

Have you ever watched a movie or heard a song and just one single scene or line struck a nerve with you? I had this happen to me when I was watching the movie Facing the Giants. There is a scene that shows a man telling another a story of “two farmers that desperately needed rain for their crops to grow. Although both farmers prayed for rain, only one of them went out and prepared his fields to receive it. Which one trusted God to send the rain?” The one who prepared!”

When I saw that, God convicted my heart. I did not know if God would send the rain but I was going to prepare my field for it anyways.

Leave a Reply

